Skip to content

Fill You Up

October 27, 2012
tags: ,

If the bottom should fall out from your cup,
I’ll give you mine and fill it up.

And if the bottom should fall from your world,
I know that I can’t board it back up for you
(no matter how I want to).

But I can fill you up.

I can fill you up again and
hear your spirits lift
like water reaching a higher pitch
as the brim gets ever nearer, ever closer,
and the water, so happy, nears flowing over.

I can fill you up
and touch your surface with my fingertips,
hold them above and watch your happiness drip
back into you.

I can fill you up
and see you ripple to a smile
like laughing, shimmering water.

I want to fill you up again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

