Skip to content

Ode to the ode

October 6, 2012

By @Leah Jespersen

Well, here we are again, dear ode
I have never seen you before
but you already seem like an old friend
You give me the same feeling
as you stand before me, unclear and imprecise
A feeling of insecurity and confusion
You want me to put you together in some way
Shape you into something I can be proud of
You want me to fix your mistakes
and make you unique
To something the world has never seen before

But I give up eventually
Because you are a pain to deal with
You are so difficult to live with
Your mood-swings and high expectations
are too much for me
I trusted you to show me the way
but you just threw yourself around me
Clung to my clothes
and told me to not let go until you were ready

Well, now I’m breaking up with you, dear ode
I can’t do this anymore
This will be the last you hear from me
I can’t be arsed to decorate your skin with words none of us are happy with
You beg me to stay
saying that no one’s words will be as beautiful as mine
But that’s not true
You will find someone who will make you the best ode you can be
Because all we will be left with
are long coffee breaks and frustrated nights in front of the keyboard
We both deserve better
So here we should end it, for both our sakes
Here, we will put the full stop

From the original Norwegian, translated by @Leah Jespersen:

Ode til Oden

Ja, da sitter vi her igjen, kjære ode
Jeg har aldri sett deg før
men allerede virker du som en gammel venn
Du gir meg den samme følelsen
når du står foran meg, uklar og upresis
En følelse av usikkerhet og forvirring
Du vil jeg skal sette deg sammen på et vis
Forme deg til noe jeg kan være stolt av
Du vil jeg skal rette på dine feil
og gjøre deg unik
Til noe verden aldri har sett før

Men jeg gir opp etter hvert
Fordi du er så vanskelig å håndtere
Du er så vanskelig å leve med
Dine humørsvingninger og store forhåpninger
blir for mye for meg
Jeg stolte på deg til å kunne vise meg veien
men du bare kastet deg rundt meg
Klamret deg til klærne mine
og ba meg aldri slippe før du selv var klar

Vel, nå slår jeg opp, kjære ode
Jeg klarer ikke mer
Dette blir det siste du hører fra meg
Jeg gidder ikke lenger dekorere huden din med ord ingen av oss er fornøyd med
Du bønnfaller meg om å bli
at jeg er den eneste du drømmer om
at ingens ord vil være like vakre som mine
Men det er ikke sant
Du vil finne noen som gjør deg til den beste oden du kan bli
For alt vi kommer til å sitte igjen med
er lange kaffepauser og frustrerte netter foran tastaturet
Vi begge fortjener bedre
Så her bør vi sette strek, for begges skyld
Her bør vi sette punktum

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

