Skip to content

Poem: Waiting Steady

June 1, 2012
tags: ,

I am just a tree.
Wait longer for me
and I’ll wait a little longer for you.

I have outgrown my roots
and started wearing boots
and I’m walking and I’m talking like a regular man.

But I won’t be ready,
won’t be walking steady
for quite some time.

Give me four more seasons,
I’ll give you all you need.
Just four more seasons
and I could give you until the autumn leaves.

When all your fruit has fallen away
and they no longer need your (constant) shade,
I’ll be good and ready, I’ll be waiting steady
to be walking and be talking as your regular man.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2012 2:30 pm

    I especially love that third stanza!

    • June 2, 2012 6:21 am

      Thanks Jessica, I really appreciate your saying so.

Leave a Reply

