Skip to content

A Brief Scuffle

March 25, 2011

Someone hit me and I shouted out for help. I didn’t say anything meaningful, but I made a noise so loud that someone would have to hear me.

At that moment, there was a smothering of hands and arms converging on me.  A brief scuffle ensued and someone grabbed me. The bright light behind them so blinded me that all I could only see a silhouette. And then water flooded my eyes and could see nothing at all. I felt myself being submerged. I struggled wildly, but it was futile.  Another pair of hands came to assist the first and I was at once outnumbered and overpowered.

I gave up hope of fighting my way out; I gave up hope entirely, thwarted and exhausted. But just as I had embraced my fate, resigned myself to this drowning, another figure appeared. This figure, strange and powerful, seemed to command respect and fear from the others, and my assailants immediately parted to allow this saviour access to me.

Once towering over me, however, I feared that this being might not have come to save me at all. I felt myself lifted bodily into the air; no longer able to produce the noises of desperate pleading, it was all I could do to silently await the actions of this bizarre entity.

My former attackers now stood passively by, demoted to the role of onlooker, as I was carried and eventually set down again.

I was placed in the arms of a tired and fragile woman.  Despite her delicate appearance, something in her facial expression, a combination of the determined look in her eyes and a warm smile, told me I was now safe. I would be safe with her.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 4:37 pm

    Author’s Note:

    I acknowledge that this piece is a cliché, or at least it is such in my opinion and being its author I think my opinion ought to count for something in the matter.

    Not all clichés are intrinsically bad. It is possible to explore or use a cliché, in one’s own somewhat original way, or so I believe.

    “I think to be oversensitive about clichés is like being oversensitive about table manners.” -Evelyn Waugh

Leave a Reply

